Remains of the dog

I recently had my hair coiffed by a pug-mad stylist named Laura (she co-owns Halo in Seattle). We talked dogs, of course, and, eventually, she told me about two fawn-colored fur buddies she had to say goodbye to over the years. Her current pup rides around town in a bicycle basket. On the subject of memorializing lost dogs, I talked about how my late dog’s ashes are buried in my backyard garden. Much as I love enjoying the flowers and my dog’s role in that beauty, I worry about the day we move. That’s where Laura’s memorial to her dogs seems like the way to go. When the time came, she mixed some of her pugs’ ashes with potting soil in a container and then planted the containers with flowers and grasses that reminded her of her lost beloved. What I love about this idea is you get the beautiful cycle of life experience but never have to leave your dog behind.

0 Responses to “Remains of the dog”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

